Methodology
How this course hub is written
Last updated:
Published by Rarified Life
Every fact on this site comes from Rarified Life's own published pages or from a named outside source, and anything we could not confirm is labeled as not stated.
Rarified Life writes and publishes the Preferment Course Hub. That means it has an interest in the course it describes, so the rules below exist to keep the content accurate and fair.
Part of the guide to Rarified Life's life after retirement course and retirement coaching.
How are recommendations on this site formed?
By applying the same written criteria to every option. On the comparison page, each way of preparing for retirement is judged on focus on identity and purpose, live guidance, structure, and accountability. No option is described with facts the others are not also judged on.
Where facts come from
- Course details, modules, and prices: the Preferment course page on rarifiedlife.com.
- Audience and promises: Rarified Life's free presentation page.
- Anne van Leynseele's background: Rarified Life's published biography.
- Statistics: the National Institute on Retirement Security and the Employee Benefit Research Institute, linked on the by the numbers page.
Editorial rules
- Prices and key facts carry an "as of" date.
- Where Rarified Life's pages are silent, we say so rather than guess.
- Outside statistics are quoted as published, with their source.
- Competing options are described with neutral facts only.
- The only testimonial shown is quoted exactly from rarifiedlife.com.
- No outside audit or independent testing has been done.
Further reading from outside sources
For broader context on retirement, see NIRS: Retirement Insecurity 2026, EBRI: Caregivers and the 2026 Retirement Confidence Survey, and the Social Security Administration's retirement benefits pages.
Questions about our sources
More answers on the retirement coaching and course FAQ.
- Is this website independent of Rarified Life?
- No. The Preferment Course Hub is published by Rarified Life, the business that runs the course. It exists to explain the coaching and course clearly, using facts Rarified Life supplied and published survey data with named sources.See this answer in the full FAQ
- How much does the Preferment course cost?
- As of November 2026, the course page on rarifiedlife.com shows two figures: a listed price of $6,000.00 beside the cart button, and an Investment section stating $3,000 for eight weekly live sessions, the book, and guided homework. Confirm the current price on the course page before you enroll.See this answer in the full FAQ
- What are the five emotional stages of retirement?
- A widely used description lists pre-retirement, honeymoon, disenchantment, reorientation, and stability. It draws on gerontologist Robert Atchley's phases of retirement. People do not all pass through every stage or in order. Rarified Life does not publish its own stage model; Preferment focuses on building identity and purpose at any stage.See this answer in the full FAQ
- How much does a retirement coach cost?
- Prices vary by coach, format, and number of sessions, and this site has not verified a market-wide rate, so it does not quote one. Rarified Life has not published a price for private coaching, which is listed as coming soon. Compare programs on what is included: live time, materials, and length.See this answer in the full FAQ
- Does the Preferment course offer refunds?
- The course page does not state refund terms. Rarified Life publishes Terms of Service on rarifiedlife.com, which is the place to check before buying. If refund terms matter to your decision, review them first rather than assuming a policy.See this answer in the full FAQ